5249 christmas dinner help!

hello there..moved to sicily from the uk in feb this year(2006)...so this will be my first xmas here..how am i going to survive..i havent a clue how to ask for a joint of roast beef..i have never seen it in the shops..(anyone know what i ask for)...also no stuffing...and no i dont know how to make my own..( any suggestions)...and what about pigs in blankets (bacon wrapped around cocktail sausages)...and as for gravy...forget it..i dont think it exists here...so what do i do?..eat pasta on xmas day?...yes i know im whinging but hey ive been doing this for 42 yrs..oh and another whinge..where are the little xmas £1 shops?......well ok i may be asking for a bit much there..but any suggestions on how to ask for joints of meat for roasting will be appreciated...well after all foreigners in england seem to be able to buy their traditional foods....help please. thank you.:)

Category
Food & Drink

Hi,

Have you tried to find out what the locals do for their Xmas dinner? It might be worthwhile checking out the local butcher's for suggestions. Maybe just be prepared for a change!

Good luck,
Steph :)

Hi Cockney Girl

Found this web site, which gives details of food for Christmas Eve - fish of course.

[url]http://www.sicilianculture.com/food/xmasfish.htm[/url]

As for the day itself, have you thought of roasting a goose? They are certainly about in the shops here before Christmas. Roast potatoes in goose fat are wonderful.

Sausages rolled in prociuto is not quite the same but nice never the less. And stuffing is quite easy to make and you can try lots of different types, I like chestnut and apricot stuffing myself.

Gravy is a problem but you can always do the 'old' way of stirring flour and butter into the meat juices, adding water (or wine) and then reducing it to the desired thickness. It may look pale but it will taste OK.

Dolce is usually Pannetoni, which is wonderful with a good espresso.