Culture
by rosemarie.scavo | Tue, 08/09/2016 - 04:41
In 1562, Emanuele Filiberto, Duke of Savoy, moved his capital across the Alps from Chambéry (present-day France) to Turin. It was during this time that Turin,…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 06/28/2016 - 04:00
For eight centuries, the Cathedral of Santa Maria della Bruna has stood against Matera’s famous Sassi. Rising majestically over Matera’s highest point, the…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 05/24/2016 - 04:50
The Rolli Days event returns to Genoa this weekend, May 28 and 29. It is the perfect chance to explore a side of this port city on the coast of Liguria, for…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Thu, 05/19/2016 - 09:00
When you think of the Roman Empire you think of Rome, but Ravenna, a thriving Roman port on the Adriatic sea, actually played a significant role in the history…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 03/15/2016 - 05:35
The Basilica of Santa Maria Antiqua, the oldest and most important Christian monument inside the Roman Forum, is scheduled to reopen on March 17, after a 30-…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Thu, 03/10/2016 - 06:00
Approximately 25 kilometers south-east of Florence, standing amid a 185-hectare park in the municipality of Reggello, rises a magnificent castle, a prime…
Culture
by Luciana.Squadrilli | Tue, 02/16/2016 - 04:39
Words by Luciana Squadrilli Italy is a magical country all on its own, but there are some special places that make it even more amazing. Enchanted gardens…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Fri, 12/18/2015 - 06:00
On December 8, Pope Francis opened the Holy Door at St. Peter’s Basilica, thus inaugurating the extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy. The door at St. Peter’s was the…
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Mon, 11/16/2015 - 03:00
Culture
by Silvia Donati | Wed, 11/11/2015 - 05:00
The Trevi Fountain is shining and flowing again – the 17-month restoration work, financed by fashion house Fendi for a total of 2.2 million euros, concluded…