Traditions

Food + Wine
by Silvia Donati | Thu, 12/23/2021 - 04:06
When temperatures drop low, what’s better than a steaming hot drink to warm the body and spirit?! Here are nine drinks to enjoy in Italy in winter.  Table of…
Food + Wine
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 12/21/2021 - 03:16
Truffle hunting and extraction in Italy was inscribed onto UNESCO’s List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity on December 16, 2021. Described by…
Food + Wine
by Silvia Donati | Fri, 12/17/2021 - 03:16
Hand-kneaded pasta dough has been the base ingredient of many traditional dishes of Emilia-Romagna’s cuisine for a long time. A clever product that, in times…
Life + Style
by Francine Segan | Wed, 10/06/2021 - 02:05
Cervia, a small seaside town in southern Emilia-Romagna, is famous for its salt, which is nicknamed the “Pope’s salt” because of the centuries-long tradition…
Food + Wine
by Silvia Donati | Wed, 09/29/2021 - 03:03
As summer turns into fall, Italy’s harvest season begins. Experiencing it in first person, be it olive picking, grape picking or apple picking, is a wonderful…
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Thu, 05/13/2021 - 07:17
Is the espresso coffee ritual an Italian or a Neapolitan tradition? That is the question at the center of a debate that sees two different candidates fight for…
Culture
by Francesca Maggi | Wed, 11/25/2020 - 00:11
This Thanksgiving, I bring my annual tradition of posting one of my earliest entries on celebrating this very American tradition as an expat...Today, or more…
Culture
by Myra Robinson | Mon, 11/09/2020 - 10:17
For many – if not most – people, the date 11th November means Armistice Day, the anniversary of the signing of the peace treaty at the end of the First World…
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 10/20/2020 - 06:22
If you’ve ever walked the Sassi di Matera at night, you know how enchanting they are. Yet, at the same time, they can also be eerie; the dark ravines,…
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 09/08/2020 - 00:00
Venice held its annual Regata Storica on Sunday, September 6, drawing hundreds of people despite Covid restrictions. The Historical Regatta of Venice is the…