Toni DeBella

:

Toni DeBella is a freelance travel, lifestyle and digital content writer based in Orvieto, Italy. Her work has been featured in such publications as The Telegraph, Fodor’s, Walks of Italy, Culture Trip, Frommers, Family Handyman, Birds & Blooms and more. Most recently she co-authored the 2020 edition of DK Eyewitness Sicily travel guide. When Toni is not roaming around Europe, you’ll find her tending her alley-side container garden or honing her clay-court tennis game.

Articles by Toni DeBella

Fri, 05/24/2024 - 13:00
The airport security facial recognition technology dubbed “FaceBoarding” debuted in Italy at Milan’s Linate Airport earlier this month, marking a new…
Wed, 05/15/2024 - 14:47
Enjoying a gelato on an evening stroll is basically an Italian birthright. So when the city of Milan proposed a ban that could have potentially restr…
Sat, 05/11/2024 - 16:00
“Barbiecore” was a buzzword for much of 2023 thanks to Greta Gerwig’s record-breaking summer blockbuster. But in Italy, a similar phenomenon took off…
Sun, 05/05/2024 - 05:30
According to Italian folklore, if a pigeon poops on you it portends good luck.  But for the long-suffering citizens of cities like Venice, Milan and…
Thu, 04/25/2024 - 15:00
Your typical natural history museum in Italy once skewed more “dim vault where old stuff gathers dust” than “state-of-the-art science hub.” But the c…
Wed, 04/17/2024 - 13:00
You may have heard of Alicudi, a small, remote island north of Sicily in the Aeolian archipelago. Overrun by wild-turned-domesticated goats, it’s been…
Wed, 03/27/2024 - 15:00
Ed., March 27, 2024: This article was originally published in 2023 and has been updated to reflect this year’s dates and themes. Easter eggs aren’t j…
Sun, 03/24/2024 - 10:00
A new era for Italian rugby may be on the horizon. The Azzurri’s remarkable showing at the Six Nations 2024 tournament earlier in March, along with t…
Tue, 03/19/2024 - 14:00
Earlier in March, a Michelin-starred chef from northern Italy was sentenced to nearly three months in jail for serving risotto garnished with raw vong…
Fri, 02/23/2024 - 15:54
Visiting one of the most popular stretches of southern Italy will soon be easier for air travelers with the revival of the Salerno-Costa d’Amalfi airp…
Mon, 02/12/2024 - 07:30
If you’re bewildered by captions and memes across social media that say some version of “This is my Roman Empire” or “Fill-in-the-blank is my Roman Em…
Fri, 02/09/2024 - 04:59
When you first arrive in magical Ortisei, you might feel like you’re in the Bavarian Alps or castle-strewn Austria. But despite its distinct alpine vi…
Mon, 02/05/2024 - 05:00
Genderless masked demigods in 16th-century ceremonial garb, terrifying feats of horsemanship, bystanders munching on sugary fried treats, and one cove…
Mon, 01/29/2024 - 06:00
Roaring back from a two-set deficit against the tournament’s third seed Daniil Medvedev, Jannik Sinner stunned the tennis world on Sunday with his gut…
Mon, 01/15/2024 - 03:29
Ed.: The Inspired Stays series highlights hotels we love around Italy. Each property is independently reviewed by an Italy Magazine writer, who is gen…
Thu, 01/11/2024 - 13:12
Pesaro will hold the title of Italian Capital of Culture in 2024, following on the heels of twinned 2023 capitals Bergamo and Brescia. The official ki…
Thu, 11/30/2023 - 13:00
In a victory that the sports press has dubbed the “Miracle of Málaga,” Italian tennis players broke a dry spell of nearly five decades to become the D…
Wed, 11/01/2023 - 12:35
Loretta Lovisa is a petite woman with bright and expressive eyes that sparkle when she speaks — particularly about her line of work. A master needlewo…
Tue, 08/15/2023 - 12:56
We’re at the peak of Italian summer, and beaches in August are notoriously packed to the gills. Here are some non-seaside destinations where you can s…
Fri, 07/14/2023 - 01:31
On Monday, July 3, the opening day of Wimbledon, Italian tennis player Jannik Sinner strode onto center court carrying a custom-made Gucci duffel bag.…