12110 Abruzzo Earthquake Fundraising Drive

Some may have noiced how very quiet I've been in my postings since the 6th of April - not the time for my usual sarcasm and more a time of personal searching about what (if anything) I could do to help in a practical way. I'm not prepared to fly over and scramble through rubble or organise a bag of shopping to drop off at Amandola. Both would be totally pointless as I have no experience of either and both are already very well organised.

However, it seems quite a few people want to know how, where and to who they can donate money to help, but are confused as to where their money would best be used - there are so many different options available - so my idea is - why don't we at ItalyMag set up our own account where members can donate money and then send the total amount to worthy organisations as a lump sum?

Would this possible to arrange? Are Admin prepared to organise an account so we can do this and donate as one body helping another out at a time of need?

The recovery from any earthquake takes many years - there are funerals to organise - homes, hospitals, schools and businesses to inspect and repair or rebuild - there is the care of the people on a long term basis until those who will have their homes condemmed can receive the finances through either insurance policies or Government payouts that allow them to start rebuilding - and then of course, there is all the grief to deal with - counselling young and old alike so the lifelong effects are reduced and leave as few emotional scars as possible.

It all takes money - vast amounts - and if we were able to adopt this idea, although it would be a drop in the ocean - it would be one less drop other organisations and charities have to find.