alan h's activity

Questions Asked

Don't forget - IMU 1st payment due 16th June

Thu, 05/16/2024 - 06:18

Swiss Motorway Vignette - Online E-Purchase.

 

You can now buy a e-vignette online.  All electronic, so no sticker issued.  It work by using your car number plate. 

 

Mon, 12/18/2023 - 04:17

We used to use Book Depository to get books for our Italian friends at Christmas.

Book Depository now closed.  Does anyone know of an Italian (or EU) bookshop that will accept orders from the UK and deliver to an Italian address?

Sat, 12/02/2023 - 07:37

Train travel from UK to Italy 

 

Wed, 11/22/2023 - 13:42

Open Log Fires in Piemonte [and other areas]

 

Tue, 09/19/2023 - 05:36

DRIVING THROUGH FRANCE  -  LOW EMISSION ZONES.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-66449514

 

Bought mine - less than £5 all in.  Took about a week to arrive.

 

Wed, 08/09/2023 - 09:25

EU Entry Permit Required From 2024

 

Mon, 06/26/2023 - 04:08

IMU DISCOUNT FOR UK PENSIONERS

 

I am aware that some posters on this site have got the IMU discount for UK Pensioners with a holiday home in Italy, that is not rented out at all.

Mon, 06/19/2023 - 10:17

Driving to Italy 

Just driven down.  No longer cheap petrol in Switzerland  - fill up in France. 

Even Italian petrol is appreciably cheaper than Switzerland 

(There was no petrol available in Mulhouse for some reason)

Wed, 09/14/2022 - 06:49

IMU Tax

 

Don't forget the first payment is due by 16th June

Sat, 05/14/2022 - 06:35

Comments posted

Mon, 06/10/2024 - 07:36

If you do a Google search on  "Mammola Italy Romeo" it throws up at least one or two possible relatives

Sun, 05/05/2024 - 06:19

Try around the shores of Lake Orta

Wed, 04/24/2024 - 11:06

I wasn't sure about using Bip&Go in Italy, as we don't need it for Italy, as we are in the North, near Lake Maggiore and don't need to use toll roads there.

(You might like yo look at using the Simplon Pass, rather than the tunnel routes.  We alternate between that and the Gotthard route)

Wed, 04/24/2024 - 03:56

One other thing, if you go via Switzerland, (it's the way I go), get the vignette from  https://via.admin.ch/shop/dashboard

You only pay for the vignette - no handling or postage charges.  You don't get the sticky vignette, just an 'electronic' one. You get it immediately, when you pay online.

Your car reg is put on the Swiss Motorway computers and they use their ANPR cameras check you have the vignette. 

Did it for the first time this year - so so easy.  I do keep the confirmatory email in the car, as a back up

Wed, 04/24/2024 - 03:09

Bip&Go isn't linked to a vehicle registration.  Both I and my son use the same one.

Tue, 04/23/2024 - 03:12

I use one, a Bip&Go in France - one that my son has. 

It's simple to use - fix it at the windscreen, or hold it up when approaching the toll booth, and the arm rises as you approach.  Use the Telepass booths with a 30 on it and you should be able to drive through at about 25kph.

I'd highly recommend them as you avoid any queueing at the 'pay' booths.

 

Sun, 04/21/2024 - 06:40

Talk to your neighbours about borrowing ladders - someone is bound to have some.

Fri, 03/29/2024 - 04:52

YET AGAIN - INNOCUOUS POST LATER MODIFIED TO INCLUDE ADVERTISING LINK.  HE VERY OFTEN DOES THIS

Sat, 03/02/2024 - 06:04

Why not ask your bank?