Christmas

Culture
by Anonymous (not verified) | Fri, 01/03/2020 - 23:01
According to Italian traditions, Befana is an old woman who gives presents throughout the country on the night of January 5, also known as the Epiphany Eve. By…
Language
by Silvia Donati | Mon, 12/23/2019 - 11:11
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Fri, 12/20/2019 - 00:00
Christmas Day is just around the corner, so we’ve put together a collection of our favorite Christmas-inspired stories from the magazine. Consider that they…
Language
by Alesha Allen | Thu, 12/19/2019 - 11:29
Christmas is finally almost here! Wherever you are celebrating this year, you may be interested in reading these popular Italian sayings about Christmas.…
Culture
by Laura Morelli | Tue, 12/10/2019 - 03:06
From the shop windows of Naples, hundreds of faces lure us with their expressions: proud, sad, joyful, lewd, angelic, humorous. Few artistic traditions have…
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Fri, 12/06/2019 - 00:00
[Candelo, Piedmont.] Get into the holiday spirit when you visit these Italian villages where Christmas is celebrated with special events. Candelo (Piedmont)…
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Tue, 12/03/2019 - 09:07
It’s back! Spelacchio, Rome’s world-famous Christmas tree, arrived in Piazza Venezia early on Monday after traveling overnight from Varese, in the northern…
Travel
by John Bensalhia | Mon, 12/02/2019 - 06:19
Ho, ho, how would you like to read about some fantastic festive festivals in Italy this December? John Bensalhia reports. With Christmas approaching, this…
Life + Style
by Silvia Donati | Thu, 12/27/2018 - 06:33
Check the photo gallery below for a look at some of Italy's most original Christmas trees. 
Culture
by John Bensalhia | Mon, 12/17/2018 - 10:40
Meat-Free Christmas Eve The average Christmas Day meal is enough to fill your belly for a good few days. Turkey. Meats. Vegetables. Potatoes. Italians have the…