Italy in Brief

Culture
by Italy Magazine Staff | Thu, 08/31/2023 - 14:00
The Circus Maximus archaeological site in Rome will continue to be used as a concert and performance venue, despite recent controversies. Back in early August…
Food & Drink
by Italy Magazine Staff | Mon, 08/14/2023 - 07:07
Italian government officials including the Minister of Agriculture, Food Sovereignty and Forestry Francesco Lollobrigida and Minister of Culture Gennaro…
Culture
by Italy Magazine Staff | Thu, 08/03/2023 - 14:01
Late last week, the wreckage of a Roman-era cargo ship was discovered in the waters off the coast of the commercial port city of Civitavecchia, 80km (50 miles…
Travel
by Alexa Ahern | Fri, 07/28/2023 - 10:10
It’s not only Greece that’s burning. From the tip of Puglia to the island of Sicily, the beautiful macchia mediterranea — Mediterranean scrub — of southern…
Travel
by Italy Magazine Staff | Wed, 07/26/2023 - 13:30
The European Union Republic of Italy passport has been certified as the second strongest in the world (in a tie with those of Spain and Germany) for its…
Culture
by Italy Magazine Staff | Fri, 07/21/2023 - 15:32
A rare incunabulum — an early printed document or book — penned around 500 years ago by Genoese adventurer Cristoforo Colombo (Christopher Columbus) has made…
Travel
by Italy Magazine Staff | Wed, 07/19/2023 - 10:58
Beginning August 6, archaeology and history buffs will be able to enjoy direct, high-speed Frecciarossa train service between Rome’s Termini station and the…
Lifestyle
by Toni DeBella | Fri, 07/14/2023 - 01:31
On Monday, July 3, the opening day of Wimbledon, Italian tennis player Jannik Sinner strode onto center court carrying a custom-made Gucci duffel bag. More…
Travel
by Italy Magazine Staff | Thu, 07/06/2023 - 12:15
Access to ancient Rome is looking a little different this summer. Here are the changes you can expect to see at some of the Eternal City’s most familiar icons…
Culture
by Tatjana Dordevic | Wed, 07/05/2023 - 13:00
Described as the longest and most challenging professional sporting event in the world, The Ocean Race concluded just a few days ago in Genoa. Why was the…